Fire Extinguishers and Classes of Fires: Classification System

The Fire Classification System

This short guide will help you to understand the basics of the fire classification system.

There are different classes of fire and different types of fire extinguishers for each class. Using the wrong type can make the fire worse or cause serious injury to you.

To select the right type of fire extinguisher for use with a particular class of fire, you need to understand (a) the different classes of fires, (b) the different types of fire extinguishers, and (c) the suitability of fire each type for each class of fire.

Classes of Fire

Fire is separated into five classes, A, B, C, D and F: Note: Electrical fires (formerly Class E) are not included, as fires involving electrical hazards can fall into any of the five classes.

Types of Fire Extinguishers

There are five main types of fire extinguishers in general use:

Class of Fire & Type of Fire Extinguisher to Use

Fire Classification System and Type of Extinguisher to Use
Get in touch today and we’ll find the right fire safety solution for you...
Quick Contact Form
The right fire safety solution
Areas Covered: Dublin, Cork, Galway, Kildare, Limerick, Meath, Donegal, Tipperary, Kerry, Wexford, Wicklow, Mayo, Louth, Clare, Waterford, Kilkenny, Westmeath, Laois, Offaly, Cavan, Sligo, Roscommon, Monaghan, Carlow, Longford, and Leitrim.