Inspection, Testing & Maintenance of Foam Inlet Systems to BS 9990

Foam Inlet Systems

Firesure provide installation, maintenance, and certification services for foam inlet systems.

A foam inlet system is a fixed installation of pipework, inlets and pourer outlets to allow the Fire Service to pump pre-formed low expansion foam inside a building from outside the building.

Under Section B5 of Part B of the Building Regulations 1997-2013, a foam inlet system is required in any building that contains a heating appliance above 45 kW output or a fuel storage tank of above 2000 litre capacity below a ground area greater than 45 m2 or where access is only possible from inside the building.

In addition to providing design and installation services for foam inlet systems to BS 5306 Part 1, Firesure supply a complete range of standards-compliant system components to the fire, construction, plumbing, and engineering trades.

What does annual inspection of a foam inlet system involve?

BS 5306-1:2006 doesn't specify an inspection methodology or routine for a foam inlet system but it is nonetheless a requirement of The Fire Services Acts 1981 & 2003 and the Safety, Health and Welfare at Work (General Application) Regulations 2007 that fire-fighting installations must be regularly inspected and maintained to ensure that they will work properly in an emergency.

Firesure have developed a thorough methodology for the annual inspection and maintenance of foam inlet systems (a copy is available in our Method Statement). We also provide a checklist for visual-only inspection that is to be carried out by the user at six-monthly intervals or at more frequent intervals if determined by risk assessment.
Dry Riser Testing
*Note: Replaced by BS 9990:2006 and BS 5306-1:2006 but still referenced in the Building Regulations 1997-2013.
Get in touch today and we’ll find the right fire safety solution for you...
Quick Contact Form
The right fire safety solution
Areas Covered: Dublin, Cork, Galway, Kildare, Limerick, Meath, Donegal, Tipperary, Kerry, Wexford, Wicklow, Mayo, Louth, Clare, Waterford, Kilkenny, Westmeath, Laois, Offaly, Cavan, Sligo, Roscommon, Monaghan, Carlow, Longford, and Leitrim.